Everyone’s a little bit racist.

I live in the ‘burbs outside Manhattan.  The news has been inundated with stories about “Stop and Frisk” as well as the mayorial race, in which “Stop and Frisk” is a big issue.

Combine that with the acquittal of George Zimmerman for the murder of Trayvon Martin, and there’s a lot of talk about race, racism, racial profiling, etc.

It reminded me of my own racism, which I wrote about here.  Knowing there’s a scientific basis to being racist, and little scientific basis for race itself, helps me to both not feel like sh!t for my racist ways AND helps me to combat them.

It also reminded me of this song from Avenue Q:

I wish that it were only just a laughing matter.  As a parent, I hope I can avoid raising kids who are ‘a little bit racist’.

Leave a comment

Filed under #scimom, Mother, Scientist

Leave a Reply

