Little Cells: A science book for little scientists

We’re heading off on vacation soon- to Maine, a 6+ hour drive from home.  Being trapped in the car with two kids for that long can be misery.

Thus, for weeks I have been stockpiling stuff to keep my two kids entertained on the trip.

A couple of days ago I picked up “Little Cells” by Katie McKissick.

"Little Cells" Image Source:  Beatrice the Biologist

Little Cells” by Katia McKissick Image Source: Beatrice the Biologist

I read it to Mabel the moment I opened the Amazon box.  It’s a quick and easy read, you can see some of the images and text from the book here.

As soon as I finished, she asked me to read it again.  Then at bedtime, she chose it again.  So, it’s a hit.  It’s also a really nice introduction to what cells are, that they make up your body, that you have all kinds, they all do different stuff, etc.

Plus, as a person who does her fair share of anthropomorphizing cells (“I treated the cells with 5-FU and they were really unhappy” “I added the growth factor and boy were those cells happy.” “Contamination- cells hate that.”  “My cells like it when I trysinize them at 37 for 10 minutes.”  “Cancer cells love to metastasize to bone.” “These cells are pissing me off.”– You get the idea) I rather enjoyed seeing happy and unhappy cells doing stuff in a book.

I spoke with Mabel’s preschool teacher about coming in to the classroom this year and doing some science stuff with the kids.  I was thinking of bringing in a microscope and letting the kids look at some of their cells (cheek swab, ear wax, dandruff, etc) and some plant cells.  I think I’m going to bring this book- it’s engaging and will be a good ice-breaker to the activity.

Mostly, though, I’m hoping it helps keep Mabel occupied in the car.

2 Comments

Filed under #scimom, Mabel, Mother, Scientist

2 responses to “Little Cells: A science book for little scientists

  1. Thanks for the recommendation. I have a budding scientist too so I just ordered the book!

  2. Added it to our Amazon cart! We’ve done a lot of talking about cells here- mostly blood cells right now. Figure it’s lying some good groundwork for the future.

Leave a Reply

