Another unremarkable reaction to vaccinations

My friend and fellow Evidence-Based Parenting blogger, Tara Haelle shared her story of her son’s unremarkable reaction to his childhood vaccinations, here.  She also dissected a recent study from Pediatrics, the journal of the American Association of Pediatricians, on the impact of religious exemptions on  pertussis rates.  You can read Tara’s post here.  You can also join the Evidence-Based Parenting community on Facebook and discuss it, share your stories, here.

I’ve written before about the importance of vaccinations.  I’ve even written about a case of measles that hit WAY to close to home for me, here.  In light of that, the study which Tara wrote about is concerning to me.  The crux of that paper from Pediatrics?  “Counties with higher exemption rates had higher rates of reported pertussis among exempted and vaccinated children when compared with the low-exemption counties.” (Source).

If you think that choosing NOT to vaccinate your child doesn’t impact anyone else in your community, you are WRONG!

Parents are lying about their religious beliefs to score immunization waivers on the basis of a religious objection.  Those lies, that failure to vaccinate is having real and measurable impacts on their communities, in the form of increased cases of pertussis.  Vaccination is important.  Vaccines save lives.  We all have to do our part to keep our communities safe and healthy.

Today, I’ll join Tara and I’ll add my voice to the chorus of vaccine stories.

I have two children, Mable is 3.5 and Nemo just turned one.  Both children have been vaccinated according to the standard schedule recommended by the CDC, AAP, AMA, etc.

While I have done a lot of reading on the topic of childhood vaccinations, we relied heavily on the decades of schooling and practice that our pediatricians and nurse practitioners had, in deciding how to vaccinate our kids.

Columbus wknd mcphd

Both of my remarkable children have had only unremarkable reactions to their vaccinations.

Just last week Nemo recieved his first dose of the MMR vaccine and the Varicella vaccine.

I could not even tell you what happened after each and every vaccination.  I have a recollection of Mabel sleeping through the night for the first time after getting several vaccinations at her 8 week well child visit.  I have a recollection of Nemo having a slight fever after some shots- I don’t remember which ones or how old he was.

My experience has been completely unremarkable.  Other than expected tenderness at the injection site or being sleepier than usual, maybe a fever, neither of my kids have had any reactions.  And, as is clear from my inability to recall details, those reactions aren’t even memorable enough for me to recall.

That’s my unremarkable vaccine reaction story.  What’s yours?  Share it here or with other Evidence-Based Parents on Facebook.

6 Comments

Filed under #scimom, Evidence-Based Parenting Blog Carnival, Mabel, Mother, Nemo, Scientist

6 responses to “Another unremarkable reaction to vaccinations

  1. Thanks for sharing your story and linking to mine. I hope we inspire others to share theirs!

  2. Bug just got his 4-year-old shots, plus one he missed because… I don’t even know why. Anyhow. Now he has a low fever, and I gave him some tylenol and put him to bed. The same as all the other vaccinations he’s gotten in the last four years.

    We did follow the CDC schedule with the exception of giving the first HepB shot at 1 month rather than at birth- their original research on the subject showed that the vaccine was slightly more effective when given at one month, but that populations in general, particularly low-income families, were more likely to come in for subsequent injections if their children had already received one shot. I figured we were pretty likely to come in for all our well-child checkups, but I understand their population-based reasoning. (Also with the exception of some fevers that prevented getting shots, some scheduling snafus where I realized I could NOT be in three places within 15 minutes, and so on, but those were not intentional.)

  3. All I remember about M earliest shots is that she slept for 3 blissful hours that afternoon. It was the longest day time stretch we’d enjoyed since bringing her home and I sat on the couch holding her, dozing and watching Law & Order SVU, afraid to put her down for fear she’d wake up.

    When I took M to get her flu shot this year the nurse gave me a choice between the nasal spray and an injection. I’d been prepping M for an injection and was afraid that, if I changed my mind now, she’d flip out. Not a tear was shed– she simply told the nurse, “That was a little owie.”

  4. Our big vaccination story is my daughter can be a CRAB after her shots. Very exciting over here. lol

  5. amelie

    I was very anxious to get my child’s pertussis shot as at 1 month she developed a very bad case of bronchiolitis and spent 8 days in the picu with vent time. However, the 2 month old baby next door had been in the hospital in the PICU for a month with pertussis. We got better and went home – that baby was still there. Best vaccine ever!!! We never had any serious reactions to normal childhood vaccines in our house. The flu shot is an exception – my younger daughter now has to get it with support in an allergists office. HOWEVER – I am not a big fan of the varicella vaccine. My fully vaccinated 19 year old developed a severe case of shingles her freshman year of college. She had a rash following the nerve root from her ankle to the middle of her back, it invaded her hip joint, gave her a high fever and vomiting and she required hospitalization and failed all of her finals. She had received the full course of vaccine and a booster at age 14 when 2 classmates (also vaccinated- one the child of a pediatrician) were hospitalized with chicken pox. We were told at the hospital that they see a fair number of college students with bad cases of shingles even though the students have no record of chicken pox and were vaccinated. I am now quite worried for my younger child.

Leave a Reply

