Fundraising to aid the fight against women’s cancers

For several years now, I’ve been working with my cousins to raise money in honor of my Aunt Millie, who died from complications of her battle with breast cancer.

Mabel and I

Mabel and me in Times Square for the Revlon Ran/Walk in 2011

Many women I know and care about have fought women’s cancers.  Thankfully, many have survived.  Sadly, some have not.

Cancer is something I am deeply concerned about in both my personal and professional lives.  Everyday in the lab, I work to understand the molecular mechanisms that cause cancer.  Everyday both outside and inside the lab, I think of the people I care about and remember what my work is all about- saving lives.

On Saturday May 4th, Mabel, Nemo, and I, along with our cousins, will be participating in the Revlon Run/Walk for Women in NYC.  To date, our team MILLIE+ME has raised almost $7000 to help fund research and help patients.

We’ve all been touched by cancer in some way.  If you are moved to do so, you can click here to make a donation, and I will walk in honor of your loved one was well.

1 Comment

Filed under Mother, Scientist

One response to “Fundraising to aid the fight against women’s cancers

  1. Pingback: Happy 34th | mommacommaphd

Leave a Reply

