DIY Prego tomato sauce

I am a fan of Prego (“It’s in there”) spaghetti sauce.  However, it is loaded with salt and sugar and whatever else, so I don’t have it often.

However, I make tomato sauce pretty regularly and try to replicated Prego’s sweetness.  Problem- I never follow a recipe, so when it comes out really well, I can never replicate it. (Bad scientist!  Bad!)

The other night I made spaghetti and meatballs.  The meatballs were premade, but I made the sauce- and I wrote down the recipe right away, because it came out well!

This is my rendition of Prego spaghetti sauce.

________________________________________________________________

Homemade/DIY Prego Spaghetti Sauce

2013-04-01_18-40-01_381_Sophia

Actually picture of left-over sauce on tortellini from a few night later.

Ingredients:

1Tbsp Olive Oil

1 large onion, diced

3 cloves minced garlic (or as much as you want- I like it garlicky)

1 24oz can pureed tomatoes

1 24oz can diced tomatoes (with the liquid)

1 cube chicken bouillon (you can substitute vegetable)

2 bay leaves

1tsp marjoram

1tsp oregano

1/2tsp rosemary

1/2tsp thyme

1/2 tsp paprika

1Tbsp sugar

Instructions:

Heat oil in pan/pot.  Cook diced onion and minced garlic until soft and starting to brown.

Lower heat and add the rest of the ingredients, except sugar (hint:  break up the bouillon cube when you add it).

Cook on medium to low heat for as long as you like (I think I did only about 30min, while the pasta was cooking).

Before serving, add sugar and stir to incorporate.

Serve over whatever pasta you like.

Notes:  Prego from a jar isn’t chunky; however, I like chunky sauce, hence all the onion and the diced tomatoes.  If Mac wasn’t so pepper-averse, this would also have half of a green pepper diced up and fried with the onion (I miss peppers).  Chicken bouillon has plenty of salt for the entire recipe, I don’t add any additional.  You can substitute vegetable bouillon, which has less sodium.  The bouillon really helps to make the sauce savory without diluting it.  When you add the cube, break it up so it dissolves easily.

You can add whatever you like to this sauce- I sneaked in some mashed butternut squash- other ideas would be chop meat/ground turkey/ground chicken, mushrooms, zucchini, spinach, peppers, etc.

___________________________________________________________

Super simple.  Yummy, a little sweet, plenty savory, and with a miniscule fraction of the sodium and sugar in real Prego.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

