Squeezing in play

Working full time means most of the hours I spend at home, my kids are asleep.  Most of their waking hours, I’m at work.  It stinks.  It’s hard.  I miss out on a lot.

Playing with them is something I don’t get to do much of.  I have to squeeze it in when I can.

One of those times I can squeeze it in is first thing in the morning.  I have fond memories of my sister and I piling into my parents’ bed on the weekends to snuggle and play and tickle and laugh.  Since my dad was always an early riser, our only chance was weekends.

Since Mac and I are NOT early risers, but Nemo and Mabel ARE, they pretty much come into our bed every single morning to snuggle and play and tickle and laugh.

Mabel 'checking her email' on my alarm clock.

Mabel ‘checking her email’ on my alarm clock.

Mabel pretends she’s jumping into a pool by jumping onto our blue comforter.  Nemo plays peek-a-boo with a blanket or a burp cloth.  There’s just roughhousing and merrymaking- although some mornings Mac and I are only half awake to experience it.

On mornings that I have an early meeting or there is a doctor’s appointment that alters our schedule, I really miss our morning snuggle times.

It may not be ideal, or educational, or long enough, or often enough, but it is quality play time with my kids and I cherish it.

Snuggling with these two is an excellent way to start a day.

c861c83c69a611e2bf3622000a9f1886_7

 

build em up

4 Comments

Filed under Mabel, Mother, Nemo, Scientist

4 responses to “Squeezing in play

  1. I don’t know if there’s anything sweeter than that time first thing in the morning, and I love that you’ve made that your time with them. No one has had time to throw a tantrum or to get upset about something. It’s such precious time. Thanks for sharing and for linking up!

  2. I used to be so firm about “mommy and daddy’s bed.” Ha! Once they were old enough to come into our room in the morning that went right out the window! Morning snuggle time has been so wonderful for us and one day won’t we so miss it!? Loved your post!

  3. they are so cute! love that you’re getting creative and making it work.

  4. I love mornings with B. She is so happy and her bed head is oh so perfect. It’s great to see how you are making it work, I also work outside the home and it’s tough somedays. Thanks for linking up and for sharing your heart!

Leave a Reply

