Parenting: It’s all a matter of scale

A fellow scimom (i.e. scientist+mother) posted this on Facebook and generated a few funny retorts.

My response- “Looks about right.”  My daughter is particularly adept at taking me from elated to enraged and back again in no time flat.

Another response- “I wish it had a time scale.”  That comment cracked me up.  I wonder when it will level off/even out, if ever.

It also reminded me of this post on Geek in Heels, Average Happiness vs Transcendent Moments, where she summarizes a TED talk:  “Let’s talk parenting taboos” by Rufus Griscom and Alisa Volkman (of Nerve and Babble) about the highs and lows of parental happiness.

Leave a comment

Filed under #scimom, Mother, Scientist, Wife

Leave a Reply

