Science + Design = Awesome

When I went to get coffee in the kitchen at work, the home section of the times was sitting atop a table- probably because, just like me, every other scientist did a double take at the headline:  “The Beauty of Bacteria

I didn’t really need convincing, but the image accompanying the article really piqued my interest.  It probably will pique yours too, so here it is:

Household objects inspired by biology include Local River, a system by Mathieu Lehanneur for raising fish and plants at home.  Source:  NYTimes

Household objects inspired by biology include Local River, a system by Mathieu Lehanneur for raising fish and plants at home. Source: NYTimes

Maybe my interest is easily piqued because I did a bioengineering post-doc and spent my days coaxing rat hepatocytes (liver cells) into metabolically active and structurally accurate organoids, but the idea of coaxing biology into a form and function that is useful for any purpose is intriguing.

Definitely click the links and read the article.  There are tons of cool design concepts- here are some of my favorites:

Bone furniture‘ that uses principles of bone formation to design furniture.

Guilt-free and seamless leather grown from mouse cells to form a little coat.  Why just eat shmeat, when you can wear it?!

A table lamp that is powered by bacteria and moss- biophotovoltaics.  I would LOVE to have this.  I’ve been really wanting a succulent garden for indoors, and this table, with it’s little pots of moss would be so cool.  That said, I doubt it’s childproof.

To see the slide show accompanying the article, with lots of other cool ideas and images, click here.

1 Comment

Filed under Scientist

One response to “Science + Design = Awesome

  1. OMG, I want that lamp! I have all kinds of sweet science nerd models, but I haven’t figured out how to incorporate them into my decor. Yet.

Leave a Reply

