Lamebook for Scientists: Who brought the baby echidna?

Have you heard of Lamebook?  If not, click on the link and let your faith in the human race wither away.

Are you back?  Has your faith in humanity withered away?  Sorry.

Well, sometimes I think there should be a Lamebook just for scientists.  It would be filled with screen captures of the stupid stuff people say/write/think about science.

For instance, this post I wrote a while back when my aunt (not a scientist) responded to a technical question I had about sequence alignment software.

This is the second installment of Lamebook for Scientists, although I think non-scientists will be similarly amused at the lameness of Facebook.

This ad keeps appearing on my Facebook feed.  WTFFB

Every time I see (saw) it, I thought, “What in the $#(* is that and what does it have to do with becoming a counselor?”

Finally, on Friday I couldn’t take it anymore.  I had to know what that bizarre creature was.

Google helped me.

I thought it looked like a duck-billed platypus, so I did a Google image search for “Baby duck billed platypus” so I could see what one actually looked like.  I scrolled around until I found something that looked similar to the photo in the ad.

Turns out, it’s a baby echidna (aka spiny anteater).  The babies are called puggles.  However, my guess about a platypus wasn’t far off, as echidnas also lay eggs and are related to the platypus.

Turns out the picture was just stolen from The Huffington Post.  You can read the related article (and learn more about echidnas) here.

So, now I know what’s in the picture, but I still have no clue what it has to do with becoming a counselor.

Of course, today it’s this ad:

WTFFB2 copy

Likewise, I’m not sure what the #(*&$ a baby in an egg shell has to do with it either.

Facebook is lame.

2 Comments

Filed under Scientist

2 responses to “Lamebook for Scientists: Who brought the baby echidna?

  1. Nicky

    Get Adblock. I don’t see any of those horrible ads anymore 🙂

  2. Well, on the bright side, I entertained Bug for ten whole minutes this morning watching movies of echidnas (echidnae?). Them’s some funny-lookin’ animals, that’s what.

Leave a Reply

