Progress! Recovering from a repeat C-section

As I mentioned in a previous post, I had a minor complication post-delivery with my blood pressure being high (165/85 instead of my usual 120/70) and lots of swelling with pitting edema.  Oddly, while I was recovering in the hospital, none of this was a problem.  I had some swelling that was thought to be just from all the IV fluids I got with the surgery, and my BP was totally normal for me.  However, once I was discharged, things got worse instead of better.  Finally, about 6 days postpartum I had a splitting headache that not even the percocet and ibuprofen could help and my swelling had gotten precipitously worse.  None of my rings fit because my hands were so swollen.  I could only wear my house slippers because my feet didn’t fit in ANY of my shoes (not even flip flops!).  When I got on the scale at home, I weighed only 2 lbs less than I did when I went into the hospital to deliver a 9+lb baby!

Nine days postpartum. This was right around the worst of the swelling and blood pressure issues.

My OB was concerned I could be developing late-onset preeclampsia and has been monitoring my blood pressure as well as doing some blood work and urine analysis.  Thankfully, other than the swelling and the blood pressure, I’ve had none of the other symptoms of preeclampsia.

I was put on bed rest for a week, basically from from 7 to 14 days postpartum.  It was really hard to sit/lay around doing nothing while Mac picked up all the slack- diaper changes, meals, cleaning, bathing, errands, etc.  It was tough with him having Nemo, Mabel, and I to take care of.

Thankfully, it was only for a week, because I got my birthday wish!  The 6th of June was my 33rd birthday and started off with a visit to the OB.  I was hoping he would take me off the bed rest and he did!  While my blood pressure wasn’t much improved (about 140/86), I had lost about 15lbs since I’d seen him the Friday before.  So in 4 days, I dropped 15 pounds!  I was able to wear my shoes again.  My wedding rings (while a little snug) would actually fit on my finger- instead of getting stuck at the knuckle.

Two weeks postpartum, celebrating my 33rd birthday!

I was so relieved to finally be improving.  I’m happy to say the progress has continued.  I’m still taking it easy, but I’ve since dropped over 10 lbs more- for a grand total of 28 lbs lost in a matter of less than 2 weeks!  It’s crazy.  I gained very little weight with this pregnancy (about 11lbs), so I’m actually weigh less now than I did when I got pregnant with Nemo.

I go back to the OB next week for a 4 week postpartum check and I hope the progress continues.

This past Saturday, 2.5 weeks postpartum, at my hometown’s bicentennial parade.

Other than the blood pressure, the recovery has been pretty good.  I’m still dealing with wound care of my incision.  Unbeknownst to me, my OB used surgical glue instead of stitches or staples to close my skin incision.  I HATE surgical glue.  I have never had a good experience with it- whether it was when my dog needed surgery or a friend needed stitches.  It never holds as far as I can tell.  So, of course, I have a portion of my incision that has opened and is weeping.  Not only is it super gross and disconcerting to see, but it’s annoying to care for.

With my C-section with Mabel, I had staples for a few days, then steri-strips for a few more days, and then it was pretty much healed.  However, my pain was much higher, and I needed pain medicine for much longer.  This time around, even though the incision isn’t healing as quickly, I had very little pain and was off the percocet within a week and half.

I’m not sure why the recovery has been so different this time around.  Perhaps it’s because I was on bed rest and had lots of help those first weeks.  With Mabel, I was solo at home caring for her 6 days after the section.  This time, I have barely been alone at all since giving birth- with Mac and/or our families being here to help.

I was dreading the recovery, given my previous experience I am so glad that it’s been easier/quicker this time.  I’m looking forward to being 100% so I can enjoy my maternity leave like a vacation instead of a recuperation!

1 Comment

Filed under #scimom, Mother, pregnancy, Wife

One response to “Progress! Recovering from a repeat C-section

  1. Pingback: Ramipril take me away | mommacommaphd

Leave a Reply

