My Favorite Blogs

This is part of “Show Us Your Life” on Kelly’s Korner:  Show us your favorite blogs.

First up is The Mother Geek.  She’s a classmate of mine from high school. a fellow scientist, mom to two little girls, and really motivated me to get into blogging.  She even invited me to guest post on her blog for her “Momday” series here.  She blogs about motherhood, science, breastfeeding, and juggling all that and more.  I love how she works science into her kids lives (like “A spider sat beside her“), because as I’ve said before- everyone is a scientist!

I’m not sure how I found Enjoying the Small Things, but it was during a fundraiser for the National Down Syndrome Society.   The blogger, Kelle Hampton, chronicles her live with her family (which includes Nella, who has Down Syndrome) using beautiful photographs.  There’s a lot to enjoy on this blog- including Kelle’s journey to accept her daughter’s diagnosis shortly after birth.

Offbeat Mama is a blog/community of mothers (and lots of others) that discusses all aspects of child rearing- pregnancy, birth, puberty, step-parenting, etc.  I love reading all the birth stories as well as getting unique perspectives and DIY ideas.

Spearmint Baby (and sister sites Kitchen, Wedding, Decor) is an awesome blog for nursery decor, recipes, DIY ideas, party inspiration, all kinds of great stuff.  They even featured a photo of my daughter as part of their “Photo of the Day” feature!

There’s also a whole slew of wedding bloggers turned mommy-ish bloggers that I read.  I found them as wedding bloggers on Weddingbee when I was planning my wedding.  After I was married, I stuck with a cohort of bloggers who started their families around the same time as Mac and I did.  There’s justbee, founder of Weddingbee who lives in Brooklyn with her family, currently expecting her second child.  There’s Ambergonetrail, who lives in California with her little family (her daughter is a month older than Mabel) and blogged about her pregnancy.  OMG Mom, who lives in Las Vegas with her stylish toddler, who talks frankly about motherhood.  Geek in Heels, who lives in New Jersey and manages to blog about all kinds of things even though she’s about to have two little girls 13 months apart!

I read lots more, but these are some of my favorites.

1 Comment

Filed under SUYL

One response to “My Favorite Blogs

Leave a Reply

