Alison Krauss and Union Station!

Last night was awesome!  I went with my mother and sister to see Alison Krauss and Union Station at the Ives Concert Park.

I had seen AKUS (Alison Krauss and Union Station for the un-indoctrinated) once before, several years ago in New York at The Beacon and couldn’t wait to see them again.

All the group members sing and play instruments so whether it was a traditional blue grass instrumental, an a cappella spiritual, or a bluesy ballad, all were amazing.

I’m not sure how well known they are outside of bluegrass/country music fans, but some of you may recognize Dan Timmons as the voice of George Clooney’s character in O’ Brother Where Art Thou.  I must say that after being a fan of his for many years, it was bizarre to immediately recognize his voice coming out of George Clooney!

Alison Krauss has performed with James Taylor, Robert Plant, Yo Yo Ma, and so many other talented musicians I couldn’t list them all here.  However, possibly her most popular song is this one- which I think might just be the most perfect wedding song ever written.

The opening act, Dawes was fabulous.  I love their voices, their harmonies, wonderful.  I will definitely be tracking down their music and anticipate hearing them on the radio in the future.  Several of their songs really struck me, perhaps none as much as this one…

The downside for people thinking about attending a concert at The Ives Concert Park-  I wasn’t thrilled with the Ives, the traffic flow was bad (meaning it took my mom and sister about 40min from the entrance of the campus to their seats), the parking was terribly far from the venue, the shuttle mentioned on the website didn’t actually exist, the reserved seating area only had one tiny gate to enter/exit, the sound wasn’t very good, and the only toilets were porta-potties.  Also, perhaps because it was outside, there were lots of rude people.  I’m not really sure why the group behind us paid $75 for reserved seats just to sit and talk loudly all through the concert (despite lots of dirty looks from everyone in the vicinity and being politely asked to stop talking).  I’m not sure I’d see another concert there.

That said, the night was great.  Hearing such wonderful music, and hearing it with my mom and my sister was great.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Alison Krauss and Union Station!

  1. Horray! I haven’t really paid much attention to AKUS, but they are on my list of bands to see at ACL this fall so I’ve been listening more and more. Glad to hear they put on a good show!

  2. Yea for a great night out! We actually were listening to AKUS on Pandora last night when we searched for Mark Knoepfler–if you haven’t heard their duets, they’re so great! We were surprised to find out that other members of her band sing; I bet it was a great show! She is so talented.

    Thanks for sharing this with us at Rub Some Dirt On It!

Leave a Reply

