Toronto as a Scientist, Wife, and Mother

In the “About” section of my blog I say, “My titles include Scientist, Wife, and Mother.”  (And yes, I will continue to use the Oxford comma– I don’t care what anyone says!)

I recently took a trip to Toronto to attend the International Society for Stem Cell Research 9th Annual Meeting.

See the CN Tower (aka La Tour CN) peeking out behind the buildings?

It was my first major conference since moving from an academic post-doc to an industrial scientist position.  It was my first time taking a trip,  just my husband and I,  since we became a family of three  almost 18 months ago.  It was the first time I’d been away (and the furthest I’d been) from my daughter for more than just an overnight since she was born.

I feel like this trip really brought home for me how those titles encompass different, maybe at times conflicting, points of view.  The “Scientist” was there in a professional capacity to learn.  The “Wife” was there on her first trip alone with her husband since the birth of their first child.  The “Mom” was ambivalent about enjoying the trip and missing her daughter.

In the coming week I hope to expand on the experience from each of these perspectives.  Overall I think it was a positive experience- I learned a lot as a scientist, a wife, and a mom.

Do you have a similar predicament?  Are there aspects of your life that conflict with each other?  How do you resolve them?

8 Comments

Filed under Mother, Scientist, Wife

8 responses to “Toronto as a Scientist, Wife, and Mother

  1. I’ve been an hour away from Toronto many times and have never taken the time to go and see it! Glad you got away with hubs.

    Commenting back from the Alexa Hop.
    The Lazy Mom
    http://www.imalazymom.com

  2. Pingback: Toronto as a Scientist, Wife, and Mother | Kids say :

  3. Pingback: Toronto as a Scientist (Part 1) | mommacommaphd

  4. Pingback: Toronto as a Wife (Part 2) | mommacommaphd

  5. Pingback: Toronto as a Mother | mommacommaphd

  6. Pingback: Jailbreak iPhone 4.3.3 for Mac and Windows w/Tutorial

  7. Pingback: Jailbreak iPhone 4.3.3 for Mac and Windows w/Tutorial

  8. Pingback: Conference travel with the fam | mommacommaphd

Leave a Reply

